Variety of farm animals in front of white background

We are thrilled to announce a new series of opportunities open only to families of students with disabilities. We strive to make our site and programs more accessible to all visitors. Animals for All has been made possible by funding from Abilis and the Dorr Foundation.

Questions?
Please contact Lisa at lmonachelli@stamfordmuseum.org.

Heckscher Farm Open Evenings

JULY: Wednesday, July 7; Monday, July 12; Thursday, July 22; Wednesday, July 28
AUGUST: Tuesday, August 3; Monday, August 9; Thursday, August 19; Tuesday, August 24; Monday, August 30
SEPTEMBER: Monday, September 13; Tuesday, September 21; Wednesday, September 29

6-7 pm

These open farm evenings are designed for kids, adults, and families for whom traditional program environments may not work best but still would like an after-hours experience! Join us for an “open farm” evening and move throughout the farm at your own pace and in an order of your own design. Small, controlled attendance provides a relaxed, sensory-friendly atmosphere. Heckscher Farm and our restroom facilities are fully-accessible. Staff will be on hand for questions but will not be providing a formal program. Limited to 30 tickets. All ages welcome. Service dogs are welcome but we ask that emotional support animals remain at home.

This program is provided free of charge due to the generosity of our grant partners.

Caring for Critters

JULY: Wednesday, July 7; Thursday, July 15; Tuesday, July 20
AUGUST: Wednesday, August 4; Tuesday, August 10; Wednesday, August 18
SEPTEMBER: Thursday, September 9; Tuesday, September 14; Wednesday, September 22
3:30-4:15 pm

This new program provides a chance for hands-on work with our Heckscher Farm animals for students with disabilities for whom our Junior Curator program environment may not be as successful. The small group allows for a great experience at each participant’s pace and comfort-level. Limited to 3 participants per program. A parent/caregiver must also attend with each participant. Participants must be at least 8 years of age. As this program is designed for small groups, we ask that you make other arrangements for siblings.

This program is provided free of charge due to the generosity of our grant partners.

Registration for summer sessions (July-September) opens June 29 for SM&NC Members. Non-member registration opens July 1 for July programs and July 13 for August & September programs.

Row of five common small domestic pets sitting together over white - bird, ferret, bunny, guinea pig and iguana lizard